Meet our Commissioners

Below are the commissioners that currently serve on the Board of Directors. To contact any of the commissioners, e-mail  For more information on the roles and responsibilities of

Dr. Lawrence Leak, Chair
Former Title: Interim Provost and Chief Academic Officer (Retired)
Previous Affiliation: University of Maryland University College
Ph.D., University of Maryland
M.Ed., University of Maryland
B.A., St. Mary's College of Maryland
Term expires 2019 - AP

Mr. Richard Bennett
Sr. Vice President of Financial Aid
Southern Technical College
11883 High Tech Avenue
Orlando, FL 32817
BS Finance, University of Central Florida
Term expires 2020 – AM  

Ms. Julie Blake
Vice President, Operations
Eagle Gate College Group
405 S. Main Street, Suite 130
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
M.S., Management, Cardinal Stritch University
B.A., Psychology, University of St. Thomas
Term expires 2018 – EM

Ms. Michelle Edwards
Dean of Academics
Delta School of Business & Technology
517 Broad Street
Lake Charles, LA 70601
M.B.A., Saint Leo University
B.A., Business Administration/Management, Saint Leo University
Term expires 2019 – AM 

Mr. John D. Euliano
Member, Board of Directors
American Higher Education Development Corporation
Term expires 2016 - REM

Dr. Fardad Fateri
President & CEO
16485 Laguna Canyon Road, Suite 300
Irvine, CA 92618
Term expires 2020 - EM

Mr. Jay Fund 
Hunter Business School
3601 Hempstead Turnpike
Levittown, NY 11756
Phone: 516.796.1000
BS, Psychology, University of Massachusetts Boston, Massachusetts
MSW, Social Work, Boston University, Boston Massachusetts
Term expires 2020 – EM

Dr. Adriene K. Hobdy
Ed.D., Higher Education Leadership & Innovation, Wilmington University (DE)
M.S., Business - Human Resources Management, The Lincoln University (PA)
M.S., Budget and Finance, The Lincoln University (PA)
B.A., Political Science, Xavier University of Louisiana
Term expires 2020 – AP

Dr. Deborah Jones
Ed.D., Educational Leadership, University of Phoenix
M.A., Management, Webster University
B.S., Business, Excelsior College
Term expires 2019 – EM 

Mr. Luis Llerena
Executive Director
CBT College
8991 SW 107 Avenue, Suite 200
Miami, FL  33176
Ed.D., (Candidate), Nova Southeastern University
MBA, Nova Southeasten University
B.S., University of Miami
Term expires 2016 - AM

Dr. Rafael Ramirez-Rivera
Inter American University of Puerto Rico
Gran Vista 1
115 Paseo Street
Gurabo, PR 00778
Term expires 2017 -RAM

Dr. Ruth Shafer
Lindenwood University
Adjunct Professor, Master of Education and Administration Programs
Ph.D., Educational Administration, St. Louis University
Ed.S., Educational Administration, St. Louis University
M.Ed, Business Education, University of Missouri
B.E., Business Education, University of Missouri
Term expires 2016 - AP

Mr. Roger Swartzwelder, Chair-Elect
Executive Vice President, General Counsel,
and Chief Compliance Officer
Education Corporation of America
3660 Grandview Parkway, Suite 300
Birmingham, AL 35243
B.A., Dickinson College
M.B.A., The George Washington University
J.D., The George Washington University
Term expires 2018 - RAAM  

Dr. Edward G. Thomas, Treasurer
Cleveland State University
Professor of Marketing, Emeritus
2121 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115
Ed.D, Business Education, University of Kentucky
M.A., Business Education, Western Kentucky University
B.S., Business Administration, Western Kentucky University
Term expires 2017 - AP

Mr. Roger J. Williams  
Interim President
Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools
750 First Street, NE, Suite 980
Washington, DC 20002-4241
Ex officio





AP Appointed Public Member
AM Appointed ACICS-Accredited Member
EM Elected ACICS-Accredited Member
REM Replaced Elected ACICS - Accredited Member
RAAM Replaced Appointed ACICS-Accredited Member
RAM Replaced Appointed Public Member